• ∞ • ∞ • Sponsored by the Hawaii Teacher Standards Board • ∞ • ∞ •

About Us

Welcome to the Hawai’i National Board Certified Teachers (NBCT) network. Our NBCT network is a recognized network affiliate of the National Board for Professional Teacher Standards (NBPTS). All Hawai’i NBCTs, Current Candidates, Future Candidates, and Supporters are invited to join our network of education professionals.

National Board Certified Teachers Impact on Education
The National Board Certification was designed to develop, retain and recognize accomplished teachers and generate ongoing improvement in schools nationwide. It is the most respected professional certification available in K-12 education and is a voluntary, advanced teaching credential that goes beyond state licensure. National Board Certification focuses on national standards guiding what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do. The National Board certifies teachers who successfully complete its rigorous certification process. The NBPTS Certification is the highest professional distinction available in education. It benefits students, teachers, and school systems by advancing the quality of teaching and learning.

Our Mission
Through our Hawai’i National Board Collective, our mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning through a collaborative network of NBCTs, Candidates for Certification, and other professionals who serve students across the state. In addition, our collective seeks to offer teachers leadership opportunities, as well as a forum to share expertise and ideas with stakeholders at the Hawai’i Teacher Standards Board (HTSB), Hawai’i Department of Education (HIDOE), Hawai’i State Teachers Association (HSTA), and Hawai’i Association of Independent Schools (HAIS).

The Hawai’i National Board Collective
Made up of ten board members, the collective hosts representatives from Hawai’i Island, Kaua’i, Maui, Molokai and Lana’i, O’ahu, Hawai’i Department of Education, Hawai’i Teachers Standards Board, Hawai’i Independent Schools, and Hawai’i NBCTs Network State Coordinator. Through their collaborative work and guiding mission, it is their goal to develop the growing network of Hawai’i NBCTs.

Hawaii Teacher Standards Board
%d bloggers like this: